LOWELL PLAN COMMISSION MEETING December 13th, 2018

President Will Farrellbegg called the meeting to order at 7:40pm. The Pledge of Allegiance was recited and a moment of silence was held. Recording Secretary Dianna Cade called the roll. Members answering the roll call were, Will Farrellbegg, Chris Salatas, Jim Konradi, and Ryan Thiele. Edgar Corns, Matt Felder and Eric Newell were absent. Also, present were, Town Attorney Nicole Bennett, and Aj Bytnar Director of Planning and Development.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES:

Mr. Konradi made a motion to approve the November 8th, 2018 regular meeting minutes, seconded by Mr.Salatas and carried with a voice vote of all ayes. **PASSED 4-0.**

NEW BUSINESS:

PC #18-032 A Public Hearing - Acknowledgment PC #13-006 2013 Repeal and replace of the zoning map.

PC #18-032 B Public Hearing - Update to the repeal and replace of PC #13-006 2013 zoning map.

– Director of Planning and Development AJ Bytnar stated as discussed last month, we are holding a public hearing for the repeal and replacement of the 2013 Zoning Map as well as adopting the 2018 Zoning Map based on the 2013 Zoning Map with the additions of the zone changes between 2013 and today. This first petition is the acknowledgment of the passing of the 2013 Zoning Map that was done at the time, but there was never an ordinance written and adopted, by the town council, so we are taking a corrective measure for the Town's record. This ordinance will be dated 2018, but will reference the 2013 petition as well as the map. The second petition is in regards to the current map. Director Bytnar recommended the President open the public hearing for both items.

Mr. Farrellbegg opened the public hearing for PC #18-032 A & B. With no one speaking for or against petitions PC #18-032 A & B, Mr. Farrellbegg closed the public hearing.

Mr. Thiele made a motion to make a favorable recommendation to the Town Council for PC #18-032 A to repeal and replace the zoning map, seconded by Mr. Farrellbegg and carried with a voice vote of all ayes. **PASSED 4-0.**

Mr. Thiele made a motion to make a favorable recommendation to the Town Council for PC #18-032 B updating to the repeal and replace of PC \$13-006 2013 zoning map, seconded by Mr. Konradi and carried with a voice vote of all ayes. **PASSED 4-0.**

DIRECTORS UPDATE:

Director Bytnar stated the BZA and Plan Commission applications have been updated. In January/February you will start seeing some recommendations in regards to updates to the comprehensive plan as well as rules and procedures to make it easier for the BZA and Plan Commission to review proposed development. There are also some updates that will be made to the zoning ordinance to make properties that should be allowed by right that are currently considered non-conforming uses. Reason for the updates, is the 2013 zoning ordinance updates were too generic and did not contemplate the specific development patterns for Lowell.

CONSULTATION: Preserves Subdivision:

Director Bytnar stated the Plan Commission will not take any official action this evening, but we are at the process of working at a staff level with the developer to finalize the Preserves subdivision. There are a few alternates that are available, but one requires a waiver for a cul-desac that is longer than three hundred and fifty feet. Before Ms. Cripe makes an official application, we would like to gauge the Plan Commissions thoughts on the two different layouts for the subdivision before finalizing. Director Bytnar explained that the first alternate is the original configuration that was approved in 2008. Some subdivision regulations have changed since then, and in talking to Stormwater Director Greg White and Craig Hendrix from SEH, the configuration of some of the lots in the original plan were less than ideal. Ms. Page Cripe, stated she is the developer for the property. She noted that at the recommendation of the consulting engineer and Mr. Bytnar, we drew the cul-de-sac at four hundred and forty feet. It would still meet all of the requirements as far as turn-around, but the length is what they would be petitioning if this is the option, they would like move forward with. Mr. Farrellbegg asked if the concern was the size of the lots. Ms. Cripe stated it was not the size of the lot, as they all meet the standards, rather the actual shape of the lot. This option makes the lots more of the traditional rectangle shape. Mr. Salatas asked Mr. Bytnar if the option with the longer cul-de-sac was the preferred plan. Director Bytnar stated it was. Even though there is a longer cul-de-sac, it creates more buildable lots and more traditional shaped lots. This was just a recommendation and even though it will require a waiver, they wanted to present it to the Plan Commission to communicate to the developer in the preferred direction as to what the Commissions wishes would be. Discussion followed.

Mr. Farrellbegg stated there has been some concern for stormwater back there. Ms. Cripe stated she has been working with SEH as well as Greg White in regards to anything that the Town would need to have done back there while the subdivision is being developed and working together to get those studies and projects completed. Discussion followed regarding the length of the cul-de-sac and that there would still be some triangular shaped lots regardless. Director Bytnar stated he would touch base with the Plan Commission members that were not in attendance to discuss the options with them so that when it comes time to vote, everyone will be on the same page.

A calendar for the 2019 meetings was brought to the Commission. Mr. Thiele made a motion to accept the meeting schedule, seconded by Mr. Salatas and carried with a voice vote of all ayes. **PASSED 4-0.**

ANNOUNCEMENTS:

Mr. Farrellbegg stated that the next regularly scheduled meeting will be on January 17th, 2019 at 7pm. Director Bytnar stated that for January 2019 the meeting will be held on the third Thursday of the month not the second Thursday.

ADJOURNMENT:

With no further comments or questions, Mr. Thiele made a motion to adjourn the meeting at 8:03pm, seconded by Mr. Salatas and carried by a voice vote.

Will Farrellbegg, President