LOWELL PLAN COMMISSION MEETING November 12th, 2020

President Jim Konradi called the meeting to order at 7:20pm. The Pledge of Allegiance was recited and a moment of silence was held. Recording Secretary Dianna Cade called the roll. Members answering the roll call were, Jim Konradi (via electronically), Greg White, Shane Lawrence, Chris Salatas, LeAnn Angerman and Eric Newell. John Alessia was absent. Also present was, Nicole Bennett, Town Legal Counsel, and Rich Oman Director of Planning and Building.

Mr. Konradi read: This meeting will be convened as a hybrid in person and electronic meeting, pursuant to Governor Holcomb's Executive Orders 20-04, 20-09. 20-25 and extended by Executive Order 20-47, allowing such meetings, pursuant to IC 5-14-1.5-3.6 for the duration of the emergency.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES:

Mr. Lawrence made a motion to approve the October 29th, 2020 regular meeting minutes, seconded by Mr. White and carried by voice vote of all ayes.

NEW BUSINESS:

PC #20-024 Mohawk Dr – Partial rezone from R2 to R3. Petitioner is Town of Lowell an application to request a zone change for a portion of a parcel from R2-Residential District, single family units to R3-Residential District, multi-family units. Petition has been filed by Town of Lowell, PO Box 157, Lowell, IN 46356. This is for property located on Mohawk Dr. Parcel # 45-19-22-326-009.000-038 and affects the southwest boundaries of this parcel only.

Mr. Oman stated he is the Director of Planning and Building for the Town of Lowell. He stated the town owns this parcel. It was purchased to build a street dept garage on it. The area is not conducive to a municipal garage. He stated that the town has found another parcel to build the structure on that makes more sense. The intent of this rezone is to make it more attractive to developers by continuing the R3 zoning section of Mohawk that currently exists and extend it straight west only. Discussion followed on how many possible lots and units would be available for R3 in this proposed rezoned section.

Mrs. Angerman stated that she has never been a fan of the historical reference of what has been done in the past that does not work with her as an argument. She is not opposed to this rezone. However, she would like to see some long-term planning tools made available. She would like an updated master plan. Which should include percentages of existing R1, R2 and R3 houses. She would like to take the whole town into consideration and not piece by piece. She stated money is not her goal she wants what is best for the town for the future.

Mr. Salatas stated if this parcel is rezoned it looks like it would be around a 70/30

breakdown of R2 & R3. He feels this would not greatly alter the makeup of the town. Mrs. Angerman stated she agrees with that statement but would like to see some long-range planning tools. She would like to see where the town is as a whole in correlation to the zoning districts. Mr. Oman stated the demand is there for multi family housing. He stated he gets inquiries from perspective buyers who want to still own but not take care of the property and are looking for a paired villa or a duplex.

Mr. Konradi made a motion to open the public hearing.

Mrs. Angerman read into public record a letter from Pat Polinski, 747 Mohawk Dr. Lowell, IN, dated 10/22/20. A copy of this letter will be attached to the official copy of the minutes stored in the building department.

Mr. Konradi closed the public hearing; no remonstrators were heard from via the electronic meeting.

Mr. Salatas made a motion to forward a favorable recommendation to the Town Council for PC 20-024 partial rezone from R2 to R3, seconded by Mr. Lawrence and carried with a roll call vote of all ayes.

Mr. Salatas made a motion to accept the staff report as the Findings of Fact, seconded by Mr. Newell and carried with a voice vote of all ayes.

ANNOUNCEMENTS: Next regularly scheduled meeting is on 12/10/20.

ADJOURNMENT: With no further comments or questions, Mr. Newell made a motion to adjourn the meeting at 7:40pm, seconded by Mr. Salatas and carried with a roll call vote of all ayes.

Jim Konradi, President LeAnn Angerman, Secretary