Town Council

The Town of Lowell is governed by the Town Council. The Town Council consists of 5 members elected to a term of 4 years to serve the Ward in which they reside.

The Council Members are:

Todd Angerman

Todd Angerman
Council President
Ward 2

John Yelkich

John Yelkich
Ward 5

Michael Gruszka

Mike Gruszka
Council Vice-President
Ward 1

Shane Tucker

Shane Tucker
Ward 4

John Alessia

John Alessia
Ward 3

Town Council meetings are scheduled for the second and fourth Monday of each month. Meetings begin at 7:00 p.m. All meetings are held at the town hall building.

View the Town Council Ward Map.

Town Manager

The Town Council appoints the Town Manager who is responsible for the day to day management of the town. The Town Manager is responsible for duties such as hiring of town personnel, administration of the town's bidding process and overseeing all of the town's various departments.

Craig's extensive experience in public works and municipal and utility engineering makes him ideal for leading the Town's growth and maintaining its infrastructure assets. In addition to his role as Town Manager, Craig is also the Town Engineer.

Meet the Town Manager

Home Page

An example department description. Pellentesque habitant morbi tristique senectus et netus et malesuada fames ac turpis egestas. Vestibulum tortor quam, feugiat vitae, ultricies eget, tempor sit amet, ante. Donec eu libero sit amet quam egestas semper. Aenean ultricies mi vitae est. Mauris placerat eleifend leo. Quisque sit amet est et sapien ullamcorper pharetra. Vestibulum erat wisi, condimentum sed, commodo vitae, ornare sit amet, wisi. Aenean fermentum, elit eget tincidunt condimentum, eros ipsum rutrum orci, sagittis tempus lacus enim ac dui. Donec non enim in turpis pulvinar facilisis.


The clerk-treasurer performs administrative work and conducts the daily business activities of the city including financial management and statutory clerk functions. The clerk-treasurer prepares budgets and implements city policies, keeps records of all council proceedings, handles correspondence on behalf of the city, prepares agendas, and executes any assignments given by the council.

Meet the Clerk Treasurer Click Here

City meetings and information can be found in the Meeting Center.

To volunteer your time to serve on a Board/Commission, either complete the online form or download and complete the PDF application and submit it to the Clerk-Treasurer's office at Town Hall.

Town Court

Lowell Town Court handles all ordinance and traffic violations that are written through the local court system. It also handles misdemeanor criminal offenses and DNR violations.

Court Sessions are normally on the second, third and fourth Wednesday of the month. Anyone 18 or younger at the time the ticket is written, must attend court. Proper dress is required.

Forms of payment accepted: Cash or Money Order Only. No Credit/Debit cards are accepted.

Doors open at 5:30 p.m. Court starts at 6 p.m. Parking is available at Town Hall and Moose Park.

Hon. Richard N. Shapiro

Clerks                                        Baliff                              Probation Officer                              Public Defender
Nancy Morgan                         Brian Johns                   Erin Stokes                                     Mark K. Gruenhagen
Deborah L. Sheets
Melissa Shocaroff

Building Department

The Building Department is responsible for managing, coordinating and the overall supervision of building in the Town of Lowell. This includes building permit processing, contractor licensing, building permit plan review, building inspection, and building code compliance. The Building Department ensures compliance with the Town's Comprehensive Plan and Zoning Code.

Community Development

The Community Development Department oversees Town Zoning issues and new businesses.


The Engineering Department oversees the following Divisions:

Fire Department

The Lowell Volunteer Fire Department was organized in 1897 by a group of citizens to protect their own property and businesses as well as others. The first meeting was held October 5, 1897 with the first appointed Chief being M.E. Nafus. On November 2, 1897, Charles Sherard was the first elected Chief. He served in that position until June 7, 1898. In the past 122 years, there have been only 22 Chiefs.

The Lowell Volunteer Fire Department, Inc is still growing and progressing each year to provide the people of our community the best in protection.

Parks Department


The Lowell Parks Department maintains Town parks, offers event programming, and provides facilities for public use and rent.

Follow the Parks Department on Facebook

Residency Rates

Lowell Town residents, through property taxes, contribute substantially to support facilities and programs offered by the Lowell Parks Department.

Residency rates at Town Parks, are provided to anyone who lives within the Town limits of Lowell that receives Lowell utility services.  Anyone not receiving Lowell utility services is considered a non-resident and pays the non-resident rate.

Per an interlocal agreement, residency rates for Freedom Park include anyone residing in West Creek, Cedar Creek Township, or those who receive Lowell utility services. Non-resident rates apply to those that do not fall into any of the above categories.

Lowell Police Department

Lowell Police Department

It is the mission of this department to enhance the quality of life in our community by promoting a feeling of safety and security to its resources.

We accomplish that by enforcing the laws of the United States, the State of Indiana, and the Town of Lowell, and by providing the highest quality of service possible.

James Woestman
Chief of Police

Business Hours:
Monday - Friday 8am-4pm

Public Works

The Public Works Department is responsible for Town:

Utility Billing

The Utility Billing Department is located within the Town Hall. Utility bills include charges for water, sewer, hydrant, stormwater, and trash collection.

Payment can be made directly at the office during normal business hours, by mail, left in one of 2 drop boxes, or online.

The two drop boxes are located by the front door to the Town Hall, and there is a freestanding drop box at the southeast corner of the parking lot. Please include the billing stub with your name and address with your payment. Cash payments should not be left in the drop box.

For your convenience, there are Auto-Withdrawal Payment Plan, online payment, and paperless billing options available at no additional charge. 

Visit the Lowell Utility Online Payment Portal for information and to pay your bill.

Please note: if you use a credit card, there is a service fee of $4.95 per transaction.

By Ordinance, a deposit of $50.00 is required for each housing unit where water/sewer is utilized.  Should you move out of town, the $50.00 deposit will be applied to the FINAL bill.

Featured Topics

Training Example

Lowell Volunteer Fire Department